

#### **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS **FROM:** DUNCAN KARCHER, CHAIR, NOMINATING COMMITTEE

**SUBJECT:** SLATE FOR ELECTION TO THE NATIONAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS – CLASS OF 2020

**DATE:** NOVEMBER 15, 2018

As Chairman of the National Nominating Committee (as constituted under Article VII, Section 7.7 of the National By-Laws), it is my duty and privilege to place in nomination the following slate of candidates for election to the National Board of Directors at the Annual General Meeting, at the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel, New Orleans, LA on November 17, 2018:

## OFFICERS ELIGIBLE FOR RE-ELECTION:

E. Quinn Peeper, President, New Orleans, LA

## DIRECTORS AT LARGE ELIGIBLE FOR RE-ELECTION

Cheryl Albuquerque, Palo Alto, CA
Jacques Brunswick, New York, NY
Duncan Karcher, New York, NY
Bettie Miller, Chapman, AL
Julia Van de Water, Lexington, VA
James W. Kerr JR, Dallas, TX
Donald Best, Los Angeles, CA
Karen Blair-Brand, State College, PA
William B. Maschmeier, Seattle, WA
Jeffrey L. Schnabel, Kansas City, MO

NEW CANDIDATE FOR ELECTION: Janet Vanderpool Haedicke, Monroe, LA

## **Nominating Committee**

Duncan Karcher, New York, NY Chair Peter Frey, New York, NY Nancy Issac, Palo Alto, CA Charles Reaves, Memphis, TN

Julia Hansen, Palm Beach, FL Quinn Peeper, New Orleans, CA Lisa Kressbach, New York, NY

# The English-Speaking Union of the United States Biographical Notes on New Candidate for the National Board of Directors

# Janet Vanderpool Haedicke

Monroe, LA

Janet Vanderpool Haedicke earned her BA at Hollins College, her MA at Northeastern Louisiana University, and her Ph.D. from Louisiana State University. She currently serves as Professor of English at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, where she has taught since 1974. She has also served as a Media Analyst at Ogilvy and Mather Advertising in New York. She has served on the boards of numerous arts, education, and civic institutions including, most recently, the Louisiana State Museum and the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities. She has received numerous awards for her civic work including a citation as the City of Monroe's Distinguished Citizen, inclusion among the "Most Influential Women of the Delta," Honorary Chair of the March of Dimes, and selection for the Women's Leadership Conference, U.S. Senate. She is widely published and is an active presenter of her research on Tennessee Williams and other canonical American writers.