News And Events

Emilee Edick Tops Syracuse High School
Students Bowing to Shakespeare This Year

This year's English-Speaking Union-Syracuse Branch's 32nd Annual Shakespeare Competition exchanged Syracuse Stage's Archbold Theatre for a home video, triumphing over the corona virus and scoring another victory for William Shakespeare in the process. Winner Emilee Edick from Christian Brothers Academy presented Shakespeare's Sonnet 11 and a monologue by Phoebe from As You Like It.  Her talent won her video a trip to New York City to participate in the National English-Speaking Union's 38th competition with forty-eight other nationwide winners. 

Emma Winkler from Manlius Pebble Hill School won second place and Tyler Piper from Jordan-Elbridge, third.  Honorable mention was awarded to Joseph Norris of Skaneateles, Cael Sullivan  from Camden, and Kimberly Rivera-Cotto from C.W.Baker in Baldwinsville.

Syracuse's event is made possible by the generous support of The Richard Mather Fund and the members of ESU's Syracuse branch.  Syracuse Branch Shakespeare Committee members include Susan Jarosz and Wendy Davenport, Co-chairs, Dot Booher, Sarah Conley, Shirley Cruickshank, Norma Ferguson, Anne Kuehn, Ann Padget, JoAnn Wallace, and Barbara Weller.

Competition judges were Frank Fiumano, Robert Hupp, and Sharee Pierce.  Matthew Phillips, an English teacher from Jamesville-DeWitt, made the competition possible by volunteering to handle the video details.  Joe Pierce, Sharee's husband, came forward with Zoom enabling the judges to confer.

This year's participants represent these seventeen schools:                                                        

C.W. Baker – Kimberly Rivera-Cotto                                     Lansing – Audrey Lauzun     
Camden – Cael Sullivan                                            Manlius Pebble Hill – Emma Winkler
Cazenovia – Carter Williams                                                  Oswego – Kathleen McGreevy
Christian Brothers Academy – Emilee Edick                         Skaneateles – Joseph Norris
Fabius-Pompey – Kalysta Donaghy-Robinson                      Tully – Moira McAninch
Homer – Valerie Mayo                                                           Union Springs – Sarah Lutkins
Innovation Tech – Hayden Mullin                                           Vernon-Verona-Sherrill – Devyn Balfe
Jamesville-Dewitt – Anka Chiorini                                         Westhill – Alexandra Dubaniewicz
Jordan-Elbridge – Tyler Piper


Return to News & Events

The English-Speaking Union

Syracuse Branch

Welcome to the ESU

The ESU celebrates English as a shared language to foster global understanding and good will by providing educational and cultural opportunities for students, educators, and members.

To find out more about our programs click here.