The English-Speaking Union

News and Events

Luard Morse Scholarship awarded to Allyson Carpenter and Laura Campbell

Announcement Photo

Allyson Carpenter and Laura Campbell

Allyson Carpenter, a Political Science Major/Community Development Minor, and Laura Campbell, a Biology Major/Chemistry Minor, both at Howard University in Washington, D.C., have been selected as this year's recipients of the English–Speaking Union (ESU) Luard Morse Scholarship.  The scholarship provides $25,000 towards a semester of study at an English university during the 2015-16 academic year.

"The ESU Luard Morse Scholarship Committee is excited about these exceptional students. Allyson and Laura represent the highest caliber of student scholars in our country.  And the committee is delighted that they are joining the family of ESU Luard Morse Scholars.  We wish all the finalists the very best in their future endeavors," stated Darrell Hill, member of the Scholarship Committee and ESU National Board.

Allyson Carpenter and Laura Campbell join 73 ESU Luard Morse Scholars who, since 1969, have performed with distinction at 18 British Universities including Oxford; Cambridge; London School of Economics; and Kings College, London.  They have served as unofficial ambassadors for the United States while abroad and for Great Britain upon returning home to their American universities.

The three other finalists for the ESU Luard Morse Scholarship were:  Aliyah Turner, Education Major at Bethune Cookman College (Daytona Beach, FL); Aamina Green, Film Major at Dillard University (New Orleans, LA), and Terrance Daye, a Cinema, Television and Emerging Media Major at Morehouse College (Atlanta, GA).

The ESU Luard Morse Scholarship Committee comprises primarily alumni of the program.  It includes Laurence Morse, PhD (1972), Robert Farmer (1987), Duane Hughes (1985), Darrell Hill (1990) and Jill Toliver Richardson, PhD (1998).  In addition Barbara Schmitter, former Dean of Barnard College, sits on the committee.

The English-Speaking Union, a non-profit, non-political organization, celebrates English as a shared language to foster global understanding and good will by providing educational and cultural opportunities for students, educators and members.  Since 1969, the ESU has provided Luard Morse academic scholarships to students attending United Negro College Fund member institutions as well and Howard and Hampton Universities to study in the United Kingdom.  These merit awards, which are open to sophomores pursuing a four-year degree, provide tuition, room and board for a semester of study at an English university.  Students in all disciplines are eligible.  The scholarship has been awarded to students majoring in economics, philosophy, finance, mathematics, liberal arts and the sciences.

Luard Morse Finalists (from l-r): Aliyah Turner, Terrance Daye, Rami Blair (2014 Winner), Allyson Carpenter, Aamina Green, and Laura Campbell

Return to News & Events